top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

61. Slayer by Kiersten White


“Of all the awful things demons do, keeping latin alive when it deserves to be a dead language might be the worst.”

I noticed right away this humour that originated from the television show brought to the written page and that was one of things I enjoyed most from the show and again in this book. Buffy the vampire slayer has this cheesy humour in it and I think that that’s part of its charm so I was glad to see it instantly in this book as well. Plus this is such a great point to express because I was thinking the same thing haha. This line sets up the tone and perspective of the main character that works seamlessly with its video counterpart.

Along with the instant humour (this quote literally came from page 5) is this negativity towards Buffy. This book basically starts after the final moments from the show (I’m guessing---roughly is what I’m thinking) and this book takes a negative view on how Buffy dealt with solving everything with the hellmouth and the school bus. And for me I liked this because I didn’t see why she was so great all the time in the show and to see her as something other than the resident golden girl was refreshing and different.

“Makes vampires look considerate, what with the poofing and all. No cleanup.”

Another point with the MC’s perspective on the world that’s drenched with sarcastic humour. I liked Nina as the MC. She was different than Buffy and the way she handles things as a watcher in training and amateur healer was a new outlook on the same world. It made for a more interesting and less dry concept because it wasn’t a regurgitation of the tv show. It had an unique angle. But one thing I didn’t get was how everyone thought it was weird that Nina was a healer and a watcher. Don’t those two skills seem to be beneficial for the work that they do, you know overseeing a slayer and what not? Because being a slayer is a dangerous occupation with many life or death scenarios which would definitely be in need of someone with healing knowledge. It’s what made her stand out at first in the book and I couldn’t get over how everyone thought that this was a blasphemous skill to possess as a watcher. To me it made complete sense. To read over and over again how everyone else perceived it as a useless skill was offputting and dumb to be honest. It was frustrating to be sure. It seems like a slight criticism but it’s ever present when you read, and there’s no way of avoiding it because multiple characters shared the same nerve-wracking opinion. I liked Nina even more because no one seemed to stay in her corner or defend her when she was right. And her comment made me like her immediately because I thought the same thing and loved how it was addressed because it’s so true!

_____

“The world doesn’t need Slayers anymore. Whatever you think you are, it isn’t your calling. You’re not the chosen one.

Then she walks away from me. Just like that night. As if I didn’t already know-- hadn’t known for years-- that in her eyes I’m not the one she would choose.”

This reminds me so much of Suzanne Collin’s The Hunger Games trilogy when Peeta tells Katniss about how his mom finally thought that District 12 would have a victor and how soul crushing it was when he said that she didn’t mean him but her, Katniss instead. Talk about mother of the year. The same can be said for Nina’s. She is such a terrible character and her relationship with her one daughter Nina is awful. Which made this comment below even sweeter when she is compared to a hellhound. Hilarious, functional and kinda true.

“I turn around and scream. My mother is standing right behind me. Interesting that she could make me scream in terror while the hellhound, not so much.”

Subtle but effective comparison that is relatable and intelligent.

“I’m going to show Leo I’m not the innocent, weak little girl he remembers. The last thing I see is one of the wooden clubs coming right for my face before everything goes black.”

Oh poor Nina. She was confident to defend herself against Leo’s opinion of her that she completely botched this scene. I love Nina but this was hilarious to read! Who hasn’t been in this type of situation before am I right? (proving someone wrong and utterly failing, not the club to the face haha) It felt so real and relatable! Plus, it was a great scene to read.

I loved the shared dreams of slayers and their pasts. It was interesting and scary and worked alot like the flame does with the commanders (past and present) from the television show, The 100. It helps with the whole don’t make the same mistake twice and learn from history. There’s nothing more annoying than seeing characters make the same mistake that their ancestors or predecessors already made.

I also loved the coldplay t-shirt wearing demon named Doug. Yup that is definitely not a typo and he was a great character. I especially loved that there was no real divide between him and Cillian, they didn’t treat each other any differently. It was a classic ‘bro’ situation and that fit the characters.

“Buffy, who died to save the world—twice!-- and was so stubborn she came back to save it yet again. I don’t think she was selfish or impulsive. I think she was doing the best she could in the middle of complete and utter chaos. Watchers try to control, try to predict. But in the end, we Slayers have to learn that all you can do is react and hope you win.”

I loved this turn around. Nina finally notices how much work it actually takes to fill a Slayer’s shoes like Buffy and she learns to respect her and her decisions having now been thrown in her exact same situation. She values what Buffy had to go through and for the tone of this book to change which is usually annoying and negative for me- actually wasn’t because it happened through the MC’s own development as the plot changed and progressed. She finds out that she is a Slayer and because she now has to adapt to people wanting to kill her constantly she sees how difficult it is first-hand and she takes back her earlier opinions because she now knows EXACTLY what it’s like. She can’t fault Buffy or anyone else because it is hard to make those decisions and this shows how much she’s learned and changed. This is a pivotal point in this novel because just like she says, you have to react and hope it goes alright and that’s what she does. For me this is where the story came full circle. The author didn’t have to have Nina comment on this and incorporate it into the book but the fact that she did has me loving this book so much more because it shows that people can be wrong and this showed Nina’s integrity because she actually admitted it. Well done Kiersten White!

6 views0 comments
bottom of page