top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

6. King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard

“His smile is anything but kind. Slim and sharp as a razor, biting at me with every tooth. And his eyes are the worst of all. Her eyes, Elara’s eyes. Once I thought them cold, made of living ice. Now I know better. The hottest fires burn blue, and his eyes are no exception.”

Well, this was beautifully crafted. It’s as simple as that. This is our first insight into Mare’s feelings about Maven since her capture. Before now she’s been on the run from him, only seeing glimpses of him and from a distance. The pure execution of this description tells us of her disgust for him and how she no longer sees the boy she was betrothed to. This is third the book into the series and yet I have failed to mention Victoria Aveyard’s writing and this paragraph seemed the perfect example to do so. It’s poetic and true. It’s easy to picture and fits perfectly to what’s happening. It mentions the past, the present and the future. She used to blame Elara, now she sees him for who he is and seems to know the cruelty waiting for her.


“When I first met him, I was seduced by his pain. He was the boy in shadow, a forgotten son. I saw myself in him. Second always to Gisa, the bright star in my parent’s world. I know now that that was by design. He caught me back then, ensnaring me in a prince’s trap. Now I’m in a king’s cage. But so is he. My chains are silent stone. His is the crown.”

Again, eloquently put.


Another brilliant decision and execution by Aveyard was introduction to dual POV chapters. At the end of Glass Sword we are left with the main character in captivity, Cal and her friends are in the wind and Evangeline is still at court. Having chapters in Mare’s perspective was key because she is the focus of the series and is needed to show plot progression. But the addition of Cameron and Evangeline’s chapters provide readers with the knowledge that used to be given through Mare’s eyes. We only saw the change in Mare’s character under Maven’s captivity and what he made her do. We didn’t see Scarlet Guard or any of their plans because she wasn’t there, she had no involvement so Aveyard was smart to add someone who would be there and used their perspective to drive the plot forward. And as the houses loyalties started to crumble, we needed to see why it was happening and choosing Evangeline was a smart choice because before saving Mare from captivity, Evangeline and House Samos seemed to be in agreement with everything Maven was doing and these chapters finally tell us the truth. This made me respect her character because I finally saw her for who she is and she is not the girl under her father’s thumb.


“I saw the depths of his punishment in Mare. After the interrogation, she flinched from him like a kicked dog. It was my fault. I forced Maven’s hand. Without my interference, he might have never let the whisper have his way- but then he would have stayed away from Mare altogether. He would not have been so blinded by her. Instead, he did as I hoped, and drew her closer. I expected them to drown each other. How easy. Sink two enemies with one anchor. But she refused to break. The girl I remember, masquerading, terrified servant who believed every lie, would have submitted to Maven months ago. Instead, she donned a different mask. Danced on his strings, sat by his side, lived a half-life without freedom or ability. And still she held on to her pride, her fire, her anger. I have to respect her for that. Even though she took so much from me. She was a constant reminder of what I was supposed to be. A princess. A queen. I was born 10 months after Tiberias. I was made to marry him.”


These chapters finally tell us things we never knew about Evangeline and why she hated Mare so openly. Evangeline has been groomed all her life to become a queen and Mare is the reason why she is not. Their animosity make sense! And yet she can still respect her and I’m really glad that not only can Mare’s enemy have respect for her but also a forced ally in Cameron can as well. They were able to see the hell Mare was being put through during her captivity despite their dislike for her and I liked that. Mare is getting recognized for her strength and perseverance and she deserves that! She is trying to help make a better world for everyone and even people who didn’t like her from before can see that and that’s amazing!


Cameron’s chapters provided a glimpse into the Scarlet Guard, their plans for Mare’s rescue, how they are moving forward and how they were planning to defeat Maven. Cameron’s chapters also seemed to liven the mood too because of her spunky and unruly manner. Her bickering with Cal added another layer to the Red and Silver dynamic too because at the root of their friendship the division of blood always seemed to get in the way. Their relationship showed that the difference of blood is more complicated than first thought.


“After we first got here and more soldiers arrived, the whispers about me and the others spread like a disease. The old woman can changer her face. The twitchy one can surround you with illusion. The techie girl can kill you with thought alone. It feels terrible to be feared. And worst of all, I can’t blame anyone for it. We are different and strange with powers not even silvers can claim. We are frayed wires and glitching machines, still learning ourselves and our abilities. Who knows what we might become.”


It’s no longer a fight between red and silver but a fight between red, silver and the dangerous and unpredictable newbloods. Those who bleed red but have the abilities of silvers.


I still don’t know how I’m supposed to feel about Maven and him confiding in Mare about his mother’s brainwashing. Like I’m not sure if that’s reason enough to explain everything he’s done. That scene where he tells her that she’s his Thomas was heart-wrenching to say the least, but is it genuine? We finally see Maven as vulnerable and weak, even remorseful. But I still don’t know if it’s believable and honestly? I don’t think it is. He still has the mindset to plot an alliance with the Lakelanders and even get married to their princess! (talk about a surprise there and thankfully a relief for Evangeline) He can’t be that broken if he can still plot ways to tear down the Scarlet Guard. He also crafted a way to use Mare to entice Newbloods to join his cause by using her as his mascot. He even went as far as dressing her in red so that no one would forget the colour of her blood. If he really was sorry for what he’s done in the past, he wouldn’t be going to this many great lengths to still attack those who won’t follow him and his crown. So essentially, I’m not buying what he’s selling and the houses aren’t either.


I absolutely loved it when Evangeline saved Mare!! It was so unlikely and that made it great! Although I still can’t believe she made her promise not to go after Ptolemus. He killed Shade!! I did like how Samson Merandus was finally killed however, especially after he taunted Mare over and over again with Shade’s death. He deserved everything he got, he probably deserved worse even but at least he’s gone now. I also like how the Lakelanders don’t like whispers, especially around the crown. I found it to an interesting and ultimately a smart move on their part and I’m excited to see more of them because I don’t think their alliance with Maven will last especially with how he chooses to rule.


“Love is not a word we use. We feel it, we mean it but we don’t say it. It feels so final, a declaration from which there is no easy return. I’m a thief. I know my exits. And I was a prisoner. I hate locked doors. But his eyes are so close, so eager. And it’s what I feel. Even though the words terrify me, they are the truth. Didn’t I say I would start telling the truth? I love you.”


“Promise me. Promise you won’t leave. Promise me you won’t go back. Promise you won’t undo everything my brother died for.”


“I promise.”


WE have all been waiting for Mare to finally say how she feels! And I was so glad that it finally happened! But then as quickly as it happened it all fell apart…again. The Kingdom of the Rift led by Volo Samos and Anabel Lerolan (Cal’s grandmother) worked tirelessly to put him on the throne which makes sense as he is the most likely and let’s face it best choice they have. But Mare isn’t happy and feels betrayed yet again because all she sees is another Calore choosing a crown over her. As Cal pointed out, what did she expect was going to happen? And he’s right, he is obiviously the right and only candidate for the throne and he proved that with his speech which I just had to include! He has shown so much progress in this novel and I think that was the shining star for this installment, I truly do.


“Reds have lived their lives as glorified slaves, bonded to their lots. Be it in a slum town, in one of our palaces – or in the mud of a river village. I used to think as I was taught. That our ways were set. Reds were inferior. Changing their place would never come to pass, not without bloodshed. Not without great sacrifice. Once I thought those things were too high a cost to pay. But I was wrong. To those of you who disagree who believe yourself better. Who believe yourself gods, you are wrong. And not because people like the lightning girl exist. Not because we find ourselves in need of allies to defeat my brother. Because you are simply wrong. I was born a prince. I knew more privilege than almost anyone here. I was raised with servants at my beck and call and I was taught that their blood, because of a colour meant less than mine. ‘Reds are stupid; Reds are rats; Reds are incapable of controlling their own lives; Reds are meant to serve.’ There are words we’ve all heard. And they are lies. Convenient ones that make our lives easier, our shame nonexistent and their lives unbearable. It can’t be tolerated anymore. It simply can’t be. Difference is not division.”


Simply beautiful!


Can’t wait to see what’s instore for Mare and the others in War Storm! Will Maven fall? And by Whose hand? Will the division of blood cease to exist as we near the end?

5 views0 comments
bottom of page