top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

53. Ghoster by Jason Arnopp


“Hello. My name’s Kate Collins and I’m balls-deep in love with a walking question mark whose smartphone will one day show me all of his deepest, darkest secrets.”

Ghoster is a compelling thriller with impeccable writing, hard-hitting reality checks and a terrifying mystery that’s way too close to today’s society. It had a science fiction feel with heavy doses of emotion and mystery throughout. At times the story did seem to take a backseat for the main character’s (MC) own narration of the events as they unfolded which made the story have a slow start. But all that being said this was an interesting and original new concept for this genre and I liked the spin on social media here. It made the plot less inconceivable and only made it that much scarier. I think many of us can relate to one or more themes in this novel and that will make this novel successful. I definitely recommend this book for anyone who likes a story with unforeseen twists, anyone who likes mysteries that have a tech edge or for people who enjoy snappy and emotional characters.


I want to thank Netgalley and the publishers at Orbit Books for the chance to review an early copy of this book.

“I fell in love with not being alone.”

You’ll find something to like in Ghoster and one more really great quality is how each character is flawed. No one by any means is perfect in here and that propelled Arnopp’s writing even further making their feelings and emotions easy for the reader to feel and sympathize. Raw emotions are running high and tense in Ghoster and the plot only forces them to solve life’s many problems. Tragedy and sadness await, so prepare yourself.


“That’s absolutely fair enough,’ I say, cursing these rather stiff words. Then I move in for an air-kiss and wince as I make the exaggerated Mwah! Sound. Jesus! Definitely bedtime for me.”


It has a conversational and entertaining narrative brought to you by the MC Kate and she is hilariously self-deprecating. Even with the British slang I found myself laughing my ass off more than a few times throughout. She’s so relatable and she thinks like a real person would. She asks all the questions that usually leave us hoarse after yelling at the tv in frustration. She’s rational and despite overthinking at times, I valued her approach in finding her missing boyfriend. This did make the story heavier in terms of narration and at times I think it wasn’t all needed but I don’t think the story suffered too much. Arnopp fixed it with all his twists and turns that will definitely leave your head spinning and potentially have you stuttering in shock wondering what just happened. I know I had a few of those moments, not going to lie haha. Kate’s relationship with her brain in an effort to show us her thoughts was brilliant and acted much like the typical angel and devil confliction commentary used a lot in television.


This is definitely an adult thriller/mystery novel and is not suited for anyone under 18. There are references to sex, addiction and foul language. It is not one or two scenes either so if any of this is not your cup of tea I would suggest looking for a different book. This is so much more than a thriller and it does deal with some very heavy, real life struggles. Like I said the emotions are very raw and for most characters they are coming from a place of instability and find their strength through the plot. The story forces them to deal with the ugly sides of life that can be too close to many people’s real lives as well. So be warned there can be multiple triggers in here. Its descriptive! The MC is also a paramedic so there are scenes with blood and gore.


I absolutely loved the use of text message between Kate and her best friend, Izzy. It helped show the MC telling someone about everything that’s happened without reiterating the events leading up to her discovery which created no daunting overlap to read. It served as a creative and realistic outlet for the MC to vent and gain support. It was brilliant! And helped ease up on heavy scenes of description and dialogue.


“Still on the toilet, she says, ‘So what’s the latest? And what’s going on? I can only tell so much from texts. I’ve really wanted to look you in the eye and make sure you haven’t gone mental.”


I love Izzy. She’s the charming and blunt best friend with the best dialogue like this one. She was incredibly refreshing and balanced Kate’s turmoil.

“Rage makes a statue of me. My hands are stone gargoyle claws. Can’t move, can’t make a sound.”

I LOVED this quote! Such a great example of Arnopp’s talent. This is an original thought written and executed with perfection. It’s got emotion! Bravo!

At one point there was a scene with a band called, ‘The Shit Monkeys’ and I don’t know if they’re real or imagined but it was a great addition and worked seamlessly with this new British mystery! The name sounds undignified and outrageous but I think that’s why it worked so well because it captured a rough, gritty edge to this story. Plus it just seemed very British to me. A great atmospheric nugget!


I love the access into Scott’s thoughts through his Trooself journal. It gave a voice to a character whose very essence remains a mystery and this was the perfect gateway to incorporate this missing piece into the story. Bloody brilliant!


I could never guess what was going to happen and for any mystery/thriller isn’t that the goal? To keep readers on their toes and to keep them guessing? Well Ghoster is one that you will never see what’s coming but once you finish, you will definitely be satisfied. The entire plot is explained and comes full circle to complete an idea. No loose ends. No questions unanswered. I’m not saying that the ending is a happy one, only that its one that makes a complete story. It’s what you call an open ended story with the potential of more.


Overall, this was a great book! A little sci-fi, some suspense and a plot that will keep you guessing until the very end! And prepare for a certain amount of tragedy. I can’t give you any more than that without spoiling.


I will leave you with one of the best lines of pop culture reference I’ve seen in a while.

“Fuck you, Gandalf. My quest ain’t over yet.”

Hilarious and unexpected for the genre but appreciated all the same.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page