top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

50. The Hollow Queen by Sherry D. Ficklin


Disclaimer: This is a review based solely on Sherry D. Ficklin’s latest novel, The Hollow Queen. It is not reflective of her Stolen Empire series as a whole. This is my first novel by her and my review will only reflect on this book. I want to thank Netgalley and the publishers at Clean Teen publishing for this opportunity to review an early copy.

“A Romanov never runs,’ I say. ‘I am here for my king and my country. I am not a toy for your enjoyment, and I am certainly not your whore.”

I was immediately intrigued by this book and Ficklin’s writing kept me hooked. Her main character, Elizabeth was written incredibly well. She possesses the cockiness from Charlotte Hope’s role as The Spanish Princess mixed with Adelaide Kane’s, wise Mary Queen of Scots from the television show, Reign. She exuded confidence everywhere she went, despite her very public loss of her title and status.


“For all his bluster, he is a soldier. All he knows of war is swords and fists. But one cannot win a crown by brute force alone, not and hope to keep it. Fear must be tempered with love, loyalty with reward, and punishment with mercy. His greed is too great to understand such things. And that is how I will defeat him.”


Elizabeth was constantly planning, strategizing her next move and she navigates the courts and plays the royals with a cunning grace that matches her sharp wit. Her and Menshikov were worthy adversaries and he played his villainous character brilliantly! His end was a little lame and lackluster though, especially when Ficklin spent so much time building his animosity towards Elizabeth. His threats became nothing more than talk and ruined his cruel and nasty nature that made him the very villain Elizabeth swore to destroy.

“The bird snaps its jaws, cawing angrily. Beside me, he laughs. ‘It reminds me of you. Stunning and completely capable of biting a finger off if it’s mishandled.”

I absolutely loved Sergei and he nailed his description of Elizabeth, she was not one to taunt or tease. He was charismatic and charming and an absolute swoon-worthy flirt. I didn’t like how Elizabeth seemed to use him and every time she made it sound like she truly loved him but really it was Peter, always Peter. She fell for Peter and would settle for Sergei when she knew she couldn’t have her first choice. I didn’t like this love triangle romance and I was left frustrated and angry because I wanted more for Sergei.


“My heart and soul belong to you,’ he swears, drawing back just a little. ‘Since the moment you walked into court, the moment I laid eyes on you, I’ve been yours. Marry me, Lizzy. Be my wife, my queen, and my love for all time.”


Now this would be romantic… If he weren’t her nephew and she is aunt. I know, I know that in history there were many times that distant relations would marry and that was a standard practice which Ficklin even mentions when this predicament of Elizabeth’s is first suggested. But, knowing this fact and reading graphic description of this relationship was kind of gross. The fact that they were related was brought up almost as often as they had love scenes and that was just not for me. Their feelings for one another were so strong that it almost became nauseating and even when I got past their familial connection, I couldn’t get over the fact that Elizabeth had another suitor and one who loved her back in Sergei. The romance had potential and I think it should have gone in a different direction. At first I thought she was playing with Peter’s emotions and all of her feelings and actions towards him were just a long con, but then it wasn’t…and I lost some respect for her (because she becomes very lovey dovey with Peter, verging on sickening). I think it should have been a play to gain back her title and her country but instead it turned her into a lovesick princess without so much as a name.


“I swear on your blood you will not control Russia—or me. Not ever.”

Despite everything, Ficklin managed to salvage what was left of Elizabeth’s character and has me intrigued to not only read her next book, Broken Queen but also to try reading this series from book one, Queen of Someday. Her writing captivated me from the beginning and her talent with dialogue is stunning. There’s no way I can stop at just one of her books even with all the ups and downs I saw in this one.

“They offered me a gilded prison. Instead, it will go to my cousin Anna. But they do not know her as I do. Soon, they will be begging me to take the crown.”
4 views0 comments
bottom of page