top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

5. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

WOW! You see Maven for who he is, a vindictive villain obsessed with the main character, Mare Barrow which is exactly how the first one ended. He knew how to hurt Mare and going after the newbloods seemed obvious to me, but that being said it took 41 pages (Yes I counted them) before Mare figured out that her biggest play was to recruit those like her (I thought it was going to be an immediate thought as I started the next book but apparently not)


“If I am a sword, I am a sword of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

She gave everything she had for those like her, even to the point of sacrificing her own freedom to save them. Maven made it her burden to bear. He taunted her with the corpses of those she couldn’t save and left her letters reminding her that she could end it all if she just gave in. And I liked how she continued to fight (Yes, people died because of that but who’s to say that those lives were protected had she of surrendered earlier? Just a thought) We all knew if it came down to her or her friends, it was going to be her.


Trust played a pivotal role in this novel and that was exactly what should have happened. Mare was betrayed by the very ally she trusted most in Red Queen. Her inability to trust even her brother Shade felt real. She wasn’t being overdramatic or overly cautious. She had every reason to be a skeptic to everything and everyone she met going forward.


I liked how we finally saw the extent of the Scarlet Guard. It’s not just Will Whistle and his travelling wagon. It runs deep and I was really excited to see how this would change the game now that a clear villain had been established in Maven. Meeting the Colonel (aka Farley’s father, talk about a twist) added a level of drama because like Mare learned in Red Queen, anyone can betray anyone and that’s exactly what happened upon meeting him, further proving her point of being unable to trust anyone. And her behaviour moving forward was more smart and cunning because she didn’t allow anyone in. If she had suspicions she held them tight and waited. She thought before acting and that shows real growth in her character. I like how she went after the newbloods and then brought them back to Tuck and the Colonel and showed him whose boss. Not only was it strategic because she knew those forces were too strong to ignore for someone like him but also because she knew that he isn’t the one pulling the strings. She knows that there’s a bigger player in the game and its one who wants her to succeed.


You know what really bothered me throughout the whole novel? The portrayal of Cal. The silvers see him as a king killer and therefore a traitor to the very crown he was raised to inherit. The reds see him as a silver. After Red Queen not even the Scarlet Guard trusted him, despite being in the best position to know the most facts that separate lies from the truth. And yet he is still not trusted. He’s chained up and even imprisoned several times. Like why?? He proves himself several times throughout. He uses his ability to save others while they hunt for newbloods. He flies the jet to get them there. He fights alongside them. As one of them. It’s like nothing he does can redeem him and that’s what was so frustrating to read. However that being said, I definitely liked when Mare put him in his place when they saw Wolliver Galt hanging in the square because Cal was rude and needed a slap of reality. “The body has a name,” I snarl when I collect myself. “Just because he isn’t your blood doesn’t mean we can leave him like that.” This was so well put and I think this really made Cal see what was really at stake if they failed. Although the division of red and silver is still very much ingrained in him, you see a shift because of Mare’s comment. It could have easily been a silver, just like those in the prison. It shows that this fight is not about the colour of your blood but rather the allegiance you pledge. And I like that. It’s bigger than the blood because the newbloods pose a whole new dynamic that shatter the very world their society lived by. A society before Mare fell and ignited the rebellion.


iI was worried about the addition of more characters to this world without having a full grasp about everyone introduced in Red Queen but it seemed to be easier this time. And Nanny? The shapeshifting, sassy grandmother was hilarious and seemed to liven the mood anytime she was in a scene. And considering most of the time was met with death and disappointment, not to mention the running for their lives bit that was ingrained at the centre of this plot, a character like Nanny was exactly what was needed, so job well done Victoria Aveyard!


After Red Queen I really wanted to see the Mare/Kilorn dynamic and Glass Sword certainly delivered. He knows a Mare from another life and it was nice to see how she was through his eyes when they interacted. He grounded her. He reminded her what was at stake. Although her wanting to protect him is completely understandable as he is family, it didn’t stop from being annoying. He’s a grown man! Her fear of losing him and the constant need to protect him wore on me as I read. Time and again he proves himself to everyone, to Farley, the Scarlet Guard and even Cal develops a respect for him but for some reason she can’t and that bugged me! I was glad to see her finally realize that he can handle himself near the end of the book so I have high hopes that King’s Cage won’t have her worries and overprotectiveness still present. It did break my heart however when Kilorn finally addressed the elephant in the room, aka their relationship. He basically said that he wanted more but knew that she didn’t and that hurt me because I was actually kind of excited by the idea and I wanted to see where that was headed. There were definite strains throughout this novel but I was glad to see that for all their ups and downs and relationship woes they were still there for each other when it mattered most, especially in the end.


I was also really happy to see her brother, Shade not only alive but very active in their pursuits of the newbloods in this novel. I hated when she didn’t even think she could trust him but again that was understandable given the circumstances. And I’m even more glad that that didn’t last because let’s face it, he was important to Mare and she needed some stability in her life. Now being a fan of his character, it felt personal when he died. How could he die!?! He can teleport! I did not see that coming and honestly I still don’t! His death was so stupid! I didn’t expect any bad timing from him. There’s still a bit of hope in me that he’s still alive. Like come on, this world is filled with people with extraordinary abilities. Are you telling me that there aren’t any that can bring people back from the dead? Like please it’s possible and I’m sticking to that because I can’t accept his death. Not yet. But I can accept Mare killing Ptolemus to avenge him and let’s be real he deserves it.


Although still shook up about Shade’s death, I’m glad to see Julian Jacos and Sara Skonos still alive! Going to that prison was an epic and ultimately pivotal moment for Mare and the Scarlet Guard because they ended up gaining hundreds of newbloods and the chance of gaining silver allies as well because you know the enemy of my enemy is a friend.


I’m pretty sure the mysteries surrounding the Command will start to unravel as I read on in King’s Cage. I’m interested in seeing Bree and Tramy in King’s Cage because I think it will help Mare come to terms with Shade’s death while also increasing her own strength and perseverance because she knows what she can lose by one simple action. They will keep her grounded and act as a support system that is exactly what I think she needs. And as for Mare kneeling for Maven in a collar, well you can’t say that it’s not personal. Maven is blinded by Mare and this will be his downfall I just know it. There’s a common theme with villains. They like to talk too much. Taunt too much. Mare poses a massive threat for him and yet he still toys with her, dressing her up in a collar and having her kneeling in front of him is a game to him, and it’s a game that he won’t win. Her killing his mother Elara was definitely a shock but a good one. She was basically the master mind in the first book so I thought she would last longer but I’m glad she didn’t. Mare broadcasting the death with her corpse may tip the scales with her and Maven and considering she’s now his hostage. I wonder how he will treat her moving forward now that she’s the cause of killing the one person he loved.


The introduction to Rash and Tahir from the mountains was an interesting addition to the end of this novel and I can’t wait to see what happens with that. I hope Mare continues to be skeptical because nothing is black and white, that she knows. They may seem like allies now but I bet there are some unsettling secrets hidden in those mountains and I think Mare will see just how corrupt anyone can become.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page