top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

37. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers


I almost didn’t read Grave Mercy. Don’t worry, it wasn’t because I thought it to be bad or not my thing; it was because it was my sister’s book and we don’t share. But then she had a purging of her shelves and I adopted it. Strange analogy but it works all the same. So here I am, writing a review on a book that I almost didn’t read. This one was right up my alley too. It’s a historical fiction with strong female assassins and a plot that keeps you guessing. There are tons of players and many things that can and do go wrong that makes this book addictive. Every time you think you know what’s going on, Robin LaFevers throws a curveball to keep readers on their toes!


“Torn between gratitude and annoyance, I curtsy slightly, careful to let the blanket slip from my shoulder for the merest of seconds. It is enough. Satisfied at the priests gasp and the old sailor’s cluck of his tongue, I turn and slog through the cold water to the beach. In truth, I have never flashed so much as an ankle before, but I am sorely vexed at being treated like a temptress when all I feel is bruised and broken.”


This not only shows great writing but it also conveys raw emotion, in a long, poetic form. It’s striking and powerful and leaves you with serious feelings that can’t help but draw you into the main character, Ismae.


“Looking down at my bodice, the fool relaxes. Are men truly such idiots that they cannot resist two orbs of flesh? Martel glances at the door behind us and licks his lips.”


I love how confident Ismae is to comment and react to filthy, piggish ways these men act towards women. The wording is so on point too! Original in the way that I’ve never heard of breasts being called ‘two orbs of flesh’. Historically hilarious and entertaining.


“Except,’ Duval points out. ‘I am not known to favour mistresses. Not to mention that if I did, it would certainly not be one who was greener than a winter apple.”

The idea in which the male lead and love interest is not one to take mistresses, made me immediately like him. He’s not a dog! Not a play boy, pig or otherwise and you don’t see that often, especially in historical fiction. Maybe it’s because that usually generates a juicier romance but in the case it wasn’t needed and I commend LaFevers for it. Well done! You can see the sparks and they do not go away! Duval is a gentleman with wit!


“I like that he does not apologize for his looks, that he throws them down like a gauntlet. It is an approach I admire and I immediately warm to him.”


So did I! I love Beast’s character!


I was worried that there wouldn’t be much humour in this book, as most historical fictions usually have no or too subtle to notice humour. I’m glad to say that this one did not fit that mould. The funniest scene must have been when Ismae called Duval’s mother the “French Whore” at dinner! Absolutely hilarious!


“I risk glancing at him, expecting to see a glint of amusement or a smirk. Instead, there is a hint of concern. It is this kindness of his that unsettles me most. I can dodge a blow or block a knife. I am impervious to poison and know a dozen ways to escape a chokehold or garrote wire. But kindness? I do not know how to defend against that.”


ADORABLE! It’s his integrity that she falls for. His kindness is an unexpected chink in her armor. It’s Ismae’s awkwardness toward romance that makes this relationship both cute and honest.


“He nods at my plate. ‘You are supposed to eat it, not disembowel it.” --- One of the best quotes in here!


Ismae kissing Duval and realizing that he’s been poisoned was original and creative! This was one of the greatest scenes that I’ve come across in a while. I thought it was just so clever to use Ismae’s skill with poisons to detect it in someone else and it made that whole idea outside of the box. She doesn’t just know and spot poisons she can tell if you ARE poisoned!?? That is cool!


“There is no shame in scars, Ismae.”


This was the absolute best thing that Duval could have said to Ismae and this is definitely where Duval stole her heart (and mine!) She’s so aware of her scar and resents the very thing she cannot change and Duval is a guy who wants her to embrace it, rather than shy away and hide it. Romantic!


THIS IS A MAJOR SPOILER AND YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!


Beast and de Lornay’s final stand has me still in knots. It was incredibly tragic. It elevated Duval’s friends as more than just supporting characters. They played an important role in the plot and they went out fighting. They knew that they weren’t coming back and they went anyways. That is true strength. This had everything you would expect. Heartbreak. Tears. Bloodshed.


“Every moment that those I love must suffer, languishing above their wounded, broken bodies, is a sacrilege to me. For I have realized that I love not only Duval, but also Beast and de Lornay, each of them in a different way. I do not think on how I will reach them or how I will dodge any enemy that still lingers on the field. I know only that I will do so with my last breath if necessary.”


Ismae’s character growth is substantial! De Lornay’s confession to Ismae about his treatment to her was incredibly sad. He asks for death and it’s here that she realizes she wants to be an instrument of mercy, not vengeance. Reaping the souls on the battle field and setting them free was powerful!


I’m definitely going to read the next two, Dark Triumph and Mortal Heart. And as I have heard these two follow different characters, leaving Ismae with her mostly happy ending. Dark Triumph features Sybella and Mortal Heart stars Annith. I’m skeptical on how this will work, especially with the little hints that LaFevers sprinkled in about Sybella and her mysterious mission behind enemy lines. But I’m excited for it all the same because I think I’m going to like her, maybe even more than Ismae. More on that as I read it!

12 views0 comments
bottom of page