top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

30. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

I have had this book shamefully sitting on my bookshelf ever since it came out in 2014 and I am shocked that it took me this long to read it. It was extremely well-written and the very plot was enriched with an originality that I have not seen before. The characters all played off one another very well and the mystery behind these two men who zero in on Lia, even fooled me. The not knowing who was who made me read more and more just to find out and that’s when you know you have a great book in your hands. No matter the story, if a book keeps you reeled in, like I was with this one, then you know the author did something extraordinary. They brought you to their world. The one they crafted from scratch and they got you invested!


And you know what’s sad? I picked this up before and put it right back down after 20 pages. I had little patience at the time and I was being constantly bogged down by the ritual the princess had to endure for her upcoming nuptials. I struggled with the amount of description at the beginning, and so I left it. What an idiot I was. With any YA fantasy novel, and really any novel that takes place out of the modern day, has this same problem. Crafting an entirely different world does take description and some need more as the complexity of the world increases. Just know that I regretted this decision deeply and was kicking myself the further I got.



What I never saw in those first 20 pages was how great the leading lady was. Lia is such a stubborn, fiery and strong woman. This whole novel is exploring her choice to flee from her wedding and of a life of politics and centuries old thinking. It was refreshing to see her adapt to this life so different from her own. She insisted on pulling her weight and helping out whenever she could. The most important thing that I must stress is how little Lia reflects the typical Princess. She does not act spoiled; she does the work as unpleasant and lowly as it is and she treats everyone like an equal and will not put up with any dishonourable behaviour. There were many scenes that Mary E. Pearson included that showed her integrity and passion. Let’s start with when she and Pauline first arrive to the tavern and start to help out with the chores, like cooking and cleaning. I will always remember Lia and her chopping onion virginity. It was quite funny to read and her reaction to such a simple task was too good not to include, so here it is:

“I had never chopped an onion in my life, but I figured with my skill and accuracy with a dagger, my gouged chamber door as evidence, I could master such a simple task. I was wrong. At least no one mocked me when my slick white onion was catapulted across the kitchen and into Berdi’s backside.”

This is a prime example of her trying to adapt, attacking a challenge head on and although upon discovering her lack of skill, kept going until the job got done because that’s how things work. Lia is not a prim and proper princess. This scene goes beyond her attempt to fit in and hide her true identity. She wants to be normal and is determined to live a life built on hard work. This made me instantly respect her! Plus, did anyone else relate to this onion dilemma? I did and that extra little laugh and reminisce was perfect. Page 60. This happened only 40 pages after I left it the first time and this scene ear-marks the point I started to see how much potential this book had for a 5-star rating.

“You’ve already been gently warned once, sir. The next time instead of a wet lap, I’ll be planting these mugs in your thick skull. Now, stop your asinine conduct, behave like an honourable member of the King’s Royal Guard, and remove your hand at once.’

This time there was no slapping of knees, no round of laughter. The whole room had fallen silent. The soldier glared at me, furious for being shamed so publicly. He slowly released his grip on Pauline but my eyes remained locked on him.”


This was an absolute great scene!! Here we see Lia stand up for her friend without a care for any consequences it might have. She is strong and forceful. And let’s not forget that Pauline waited on her as a servant and yet you wouldn’t know that with how she treats her and I adore that! And damn can Pearson right some great dialogue! Lia has for lack of a better term, balls. She is a woman, and to them a servant and yet she speaks her mind? That’s ballsy. And that’s why I love her character so much. She fights for those she loves with a fierce passion that I haven’t seen before. And I don’t think she would be such a successful character without Pearson’s writing. This soldier definitely catches up to Lia later on and the way she tells him off is so good and very eloquent.


“Well if it isn’t the haughty-smart-mouthed tavern girl.’


‘If you seek to intimidate me, I’ll warn you right now that belly-crawling vermin don’t frighten me.’


His hand shot up to strike me, but I was faster. He stopped, staring at the knife already drawn in my hand.

‘If you were so foolish as to lay one of your lecherous fingers on me, I fear we’d both regret it. It would ruin the festivities for everyone here, because I’d slice away at the nearest thing to me, no matter how small.’

I looked directly at his crotch then turned the knife in my hands as if I was inspecting it.


‘Our encounter could turn into an ugly affair.’


His face settled with fury. It only empowered me more.


‘But don’t fear,’ I said, lifting my hem and returning my knife to the sheath secured at my thigh. ‘I’m sure our paths will cross again, and our differences will be settled once and for all. Walk carefully, because next time it will be I who surprises you.’


My words were reckless and impulsive, driven by loathing and fanned by the safety of hundreds of people around us. But reckless or not, it felt as right and fitting as a snug boot delivered to his backside.”


Another great scene! The description is extremely vivid and well written! Lia also has some skill in fighting and defending herself and I really enjoyed seeing that. There’s nothing worse than a helpless heroine (but don’t worry because Lia is definitely anything but!) And again another fine example of how good Pearson’s writing is. The writing reflects the story and the characters created to fill it and this was extremely well done.


I also started to see a connection between Lia and Claire Fraser from Outlander. Her wits and outspoken nature seemed to remind me of Claire. Claire is cunning, like Lia but they also share a compassion for others. Claire uses her medical knowledge to help both friend and foe. Lia helps Eben to put down his horse when he can’t, despite being their captive and her people’s enemy.


“You didn’t do the boy any favours.’

‘He’s a child. Maybe someone showing him compassion is the only real favour he’s ever known.”

I can’t help but picture Claire when I read this! Maybe that’s just me. But I strongly recommend this book for any Outlander fans because Lia is definitely as headstrong, maybe even more so than Claire.


Speaking of being headstrong, I must talk about the ambush of her brother’s men and the fallout. Her brother is slaughtered in front of her, along with around 20 or so men, and all she could do was watch. It was brutal! But her insistence on burying each and every one of her country men was noble and beautiful and sad. She did it, even when it took her hours to do just one grave and she didn’t rest until they were all buried and at peace.

“You’re not a good listener, Commander. I didn’t ask for your savages to bury them. I wouldn’t allow unworthy hands to touch noble Morrighan soldiers.”

Like I said, Lia is ballsy. She is literally their prisoner and yet she talks to them like she is their superior, and you know what the best part is? They let her do it! Both shocking and surprising considering how long it must take her to complete it. The tolerance on their part is astounding. Maybe they admired her determination.

“How long could she go on? I watched her stumble and fall and when I thought she couldn’t get up again, she did.”

Now let’s talk about Rafe and Kaden. There was this pull I found towards Lia and Rafe and I think that was a good choice. They seem to bond on a completely different level that throws Kaden basically out of the running (if there even was one). Sparks flew between them and it didn’t seem forced and the best part is how this is not a story of insta-love. And for me it seemed like Rafe constantly fought himself over concealing his identity from Lia and that showed how much he cared!


“My life’s complicated, Lia. There are so many things I can’t explain to you. Things you wouldn’t even want to know. But there’s one thing you could never call me. The one thing you can never call me is repulsed by you.


I swallowed. He closed what gap was left between us, and I had to lift my chin to see him. He looked down at me.


‘Because ever since that first day I met you, I’ve gone to sleep every single night thinking about you and every morning when I wake, my first thoughts are of you.

He stepped impossibly closer and lifted his hands cupping my face, his touch so gentle it was barely there.


‘When I’m not with you, I wonder where you are. I wonder what you are doing. I think about how much I want to touch you. I want to feel your skin, your hair, run every dark strand through my fingers. I want to hold you, your hands, your chin.’


His face drew nearer, and I felt his breath on my skin. ‘I want to pull you close and

never let you go,’ he whispered.”


After reading this, there was no doubt who won Lia’s heart and better yet, who deserved her heart.


This relationship is filled with irony as Rafe is the very prince she left at the altar which sparked everything up until now. And of course this book has to end with their capture and his true identity finally being revealed!! And despite their capture he kept his promise, “The good ones don’t run away, Lia.”


And if that wasn’t enough to tear your heart out, this will.

“But the Prince ignored my note,’ I said weakly.


‘I’m sure he deeply regrets that decision, your highness.’ Rafe answered.”


What am I supposed to do with that information!!!?? And who is this mysterious Kozimar who hired Kaden to track her down?? This was an amazing book with an even better heroine than I could ever have expected and a hidden love that I couldn’t help but root for! I can’t wait to start the next one, The Heart of betrayal!

16 views0 comments
bottom of page