top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

28. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

This book has been everywhere on social media and as the second book was released this month I finally decided to take the plunge and see what all the fuss was about. I had originally decided to wait until the full trilogy was out because I had this hunch that I would want to read them back to back and after reading this one I knew I was right. Unfortunately for me I’m one short of the full set, with the last book, The Queen of Nothing scheduled for 2020. However, that did not stop me from reading the first two.

"Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever. And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe."

I’ve read a lot of books about the fey. I find them very intriguing and vivid, so this book was a no brainer for me. I had to read it. I really liked how this book took a different stance from many others I’ve read. Unlike many, this one takes a look at humans in the world of Faerie, being raised in it with only fey as role models. This concept seemed very unique to me and the brutality in which they were abducted and brought into this world made it even more so. Yes, this created a lot of resentment between Jude, the main character and Madoc, her fey abductor and foster father (I guess you could call him haha) Fey have a reputation as being tricksters who can’t lie but have no quarries about dancing around the truth to fool unsuspecting mortals and fey alike. They are definitely a mischievous bunch!! But this world Holly Black crafted also made them more manic and brutal. They despise humans and for Jude and Taryn this is a constant problem. Jude is there new play thing and because of Madoc’s rank she is stuck taking classes with the elite. Enter Prince Cardan. Nemesis and lover? (Very hard to tell which at times!) This novel centers around her constant battle with this hatred that seems to rage between their two kinds and Jude and Cardan seem to be the examples in which this is enacted within the plot.


“You think because you can humiliate me, you can control me? Well I think you’re an idiot. Since we started being tutored together, you’ve gone out of your way to make me feel like I’m less than you. And to coddle your ego, I have made myself less. I have made myself small, I have kept my head down. But it wasn’t enough to make you leave Taryn and me alone, and I’m not going to do that anymore. I am going to keep defying you. I am going to shame you with my defiance. You remind me that I am a mere mortal and you are a prince of Faerie. Well, let me remind you that that means you have much to lose and I have nothing. You may win in the end, you may ensorcell me and hurt me and humiliate me but I will make sure you lose everything I can take from you on the way down. I promise you this’—I throw his own words at him—‘this is the least I can do.”


This quote embodies the relationship between Jude and Cardan and shows just how deep this rivalry goes. She is ruthless. He is cunning. And what makes this book so great is this dynamic! They are constantly one-upping each other.

Jude does many things to make up for being mortal in a Faerie world, even poisoning herself. This shows her resilience and determination to make herself better than them. To prove that she is worthy of being there. She is immersed in more court intrigue once she is recruited by Prince Dain to join his Court of Shadows. I really loved this angle and the whole idea of her spying and getting information that has a direct connection to the matters of the crown. It made the whole plot fast paced and hard to put down. I really liked each character in the group especially the Ghost. He’s wise and mysterious and resourceful. I hope to see more of him in the sequel, The Wicked King!


Be prepared for gore. That’s all I have to say. Page 241 has a lot of it. If there are any Game of Thrones fans reading this, this scene reminds me very much of the red wedding. Many twists and betrayals happen in the span of a few pages and I still don’t have my head wrapped around it!


What I can believe however, is how Locke played both of the sisters, Jude and Taryn in a sick form of a love triangle. He was playing Jude from the beginning and meeting with her sister behind her back. But the fact that Taryn knew just made me hate her so much more. Until this discovery I didn’t have much of an opinion of her, but this gave me one.

“When I allow myself to truly think on it, I cannot fault Locke for choosing her. I am violent. I’ve been poisoning myself for weeks. I am a killer and a liar and a spy. I get why he chose her. I just wish she had chosen me.”

I definitely agree with Jude.


I loved the whole idea of a blood crown. I thought it was very unique and drove the plot into an even darker territory where Jude took a very present role. Dropping the bombshell of Oak’s parentage was definitely unexpected but it also elevated this angle and how dangerous this blood crown is. This information put Oak in the crosshairs and I think this furthered Jude’s determination to bring down Madoc and Prince Balekin.


Her poisoning Madoc was revenge well deserved.

“Father I am what you made me. I’ve become your daughter after all.”

I loved Jude and Cardan working together and when they flirted it felt so devious (if that makes any sense) but this only made it so much harder when it came to an abrupt halt at the end. Jude and Cardan were finally working together to defeat his brother and her father and then unbeknownst to him she reveals her true intentions and has her brother Oak crown him instead of the other way around. And what made this betrayal so much worse was how she used his deal with her to immobilize him while he was crowned. It was so hard to read and I felt so bad for him!! And I say this as someone who wasn’t a fan of his for the majority of the book.


However, this kind of ending made reading The Wicked King right after a much easier decision (Yes, I did read this one immediately after haha!) Stay tuned for the next review!

105 views0 comments
bottom of page