top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

27. The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye

“The Crown’s Game is an old one, older than the tsardom itself. But it is not the only game. There are games of love, played by boys and girls. Games of deception, played by gamblers and thieves. Games of war, played by generals and kings. Then there are the games that combine all three, played only by those with nothing to lose. But if the player has nothing to lose, then nothing remains…Except to win.”


The Crown’s Game left me in shock. Vika was made the Imperial Enchanter of Russia and Nikolai seemed to perish into a shadow of himself (sorry for the pun!). Evelyn Skye left hope alive with that ending and I am so glad for that! Not being able to wait, I picked up The Crown’s Fate the very next day. I didn’t know what to expect going in because the very essence of the first one came to a complete finale. The Crown’s Game ended. Vika won. But this book was all about the consequences of it and how the people would feel about change. And I was ready for it. Bring it on Skye! (And she did)


The correlation Vika draws from her magic in relation to history and the pursuit and persecution of witches was absolutely brilliant! The two concepts matched very well together and it made it very easy to follow the plot. For some reason I thought the people of Russia knew about magic, or at least thought that it existed in stories or superstition but this book cleared it up and now as I sit here writing this, I feel like a complete idiot for thinking they knew about it. I’ve come to realize that the first book had so much more of a thrill and secretive shroud to it because the very idea of magic was unknown and forbidden but again this book just shifted its focus and this is where politics and rebellion took a dominant role. Different idea but same execution!


Another shining moment that sets this book apart from the first was a closer insight into Ludmila and her role in Vika’s life. She was barely there in The Crown’s Game and I really liked the scenes with her, so this was a definite plus and I think they really helped show Vika grow as a person, because let’s face it, Ludmila is the mother she never had and blood never stopped her from treating her as such.


“I love you, my sunshine. And that’s what happens when you love someone. Sacrifices stop being sacrifices simply because they make you happy. Caring for you makes me happy. So it’s not a sacrifice. It’s what I want to do.”


Heart-warming and beautiful.

“We are not defined by what we can do, but what we actually do. You’re a fierce, smart girl, Vika and you will find a way to make your mark even without magic in your veins. I know who you are. And I think whatever happens next will help you see who you are, too!”

Can you see what I mean? Ludmila is wise and is definitely someone you want on your side.


I think the biggest concept that threw me for a frustrating loop was this idea of a “Dark Nikolai” and his role as the new villain. I fell in love with his character and this just ripped my heart out and stomped on it. A lot. Evil did not suit him and I just hated reading that and especially when he wanted to kill Pasha because it seemed extreme, especially considering how close they were in the first one. I almost gave up on him and this book, but Skye did a very smart thing. She wrote a scene where we see Nikolai is clearly fighting this new self. Knowing that he needs to steal energy to stay himself, he chose (despite becoming more and more evil) to take from those less deserving rather than attack innocents. That was redeeming. And that saved it.


All that being said, it was very clever of him to craft soldiers for the rebellion. He knew that they could fire weapons without fear (because they weren’t technically living) while maintaining the appearance of a bigger army than they actually had leading the coup. It was ingenious! Dark Nikolai was evil but still smart.


But that battle. WOW. It was brutal! Although epic, it was also unnecessary. All they had to do was talk things through because Pasha had it in him to be a great Tsar but the Decembrists couldn’t wait for him to fall into that role and this is where that playful magic introduced in book one turned deadly and betrayed the very people it was trying to keep save.


My absolute favourite part (although it’s pretty dark) is when Vika sacrifices herself to save men from both sides. This stole the show! She realized how much death would come out of this and did something about it. She tried to stop it (sounds like she was taking Ludmila’s advice) even if she endangered her own life. And this selfless act triggered Nikolai back to himself! Ugh it was so tragic and beautiful at the same time (because you know Vika is dying…and that’s when she gets him back---this will pull at your heart!) You will not put this book down while reading this I am telling you! So good!


“Nikolai sighed. ‘Because when you were hit—when it was like the end of the Game and you were going to die again, what I truly wanted broke free of the darkness, and everything became clear.’


‘I don’t understand.’

He looked into her eyes. Her fiercely beautiful, defiant eyes. His single dimple crinkled his shadowed cheek, as he smiled fully for the first time in a very long time. ‘It’s because you said that you loved me. And I didn’t forget.’

The heart can only take so much! Say what you want to say about these books but the tiny hint of romance in here, like this one, hits you right in the face! (in a good way! Haha)


Incorporating the magic that Vika gave to Nikolai at the end of The Crown’s Game as her saviour at the end of this, seemed both ironic and poetic (they have to stop taking turns sacrificing themselves!) But there’s also a beauty behind it as well, the events come full circle and everything in the end is fixed and in the proper places. We are introduced to this reformed Russia where Pasha is the Tsar, Nikolai is back to himself and him and Vika are finally together.


I will always remember the time Vika and Nikolai danced the mazurka!! It’s just so adorable and romantic!


A great duology jammed full of magic and twists with a hint of a sweet romance that doesn’t distract from the goal of the game (I’m sorry again for the pun! It’s unintentional I swear!) These books are worth checking out!


Full disclaimer, I did like the first book better, however this was still a really good book and I did enjoy the series a lot! 4 stars!!!

8 views0 comments
bottom of page