top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

25. Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen

I was ruined after finishing Lady Thief. Only way I could cope was to get my hands on the next and final book, Lion Heart, so that’s what I did. We were left with John lying there in the red snow as Prince John imprisoned Scarlet, dragging her off to her probable death. This was clearly a lot to handle!

"All this time, Scarlet had felt like my true self, and Marian felt like a dress that never quite fit. What if it were the other way around? What if Scarlet were the falsity all along?"

Lion heart opens right where things left off. Scarlet in prison. Rob in Nottingham. These two are separated so often and its exhausting how much they fight and scrap their way back to one another. That being said, I loved every moment!


Her escape was rather quick and for that I am grateful. Enter David. David was one of her guards whose true allegiance rested with the Queen Mother, Eleanor of Equitaine. I really liked his character. He was extremely loyal and protected Scarlet above anything else, even if that meant his death. He was hardcore. But you know what made it even better?


“Christ on a cobnut!’ he yelped, ducking behind the horse. ‘Lady Thief, stop this madness!’


Allan?’ I cried, stopping. ‘What in god’s name is going on?’


He peered around the horse. ‘Good lord, you’re even scary when you’re dead.’”


The arrival of Allan. I love Allan. I just need to say that right now! He’s adorable and he calls Scarlet, Lady Thief. I love it! But the banter between David and Allan could really steal the show in this book. Their humorous dynamic is one of a kind!

“A knight? Allan muttered. ‘As if I would ever be a knight. I’m far too handsome to be a knight.’

‘Shut. Up.’ David ground out. ‘If your mouth endangers my lady, I will extract it.’”


How does one extract a mouth? Haha!


This whole novel and let’s face it, all three books had a very serious and dark theme throughout, lives were at stake and many were lost as we followed these characters. So humor was a definite must. This relationship between knight and minstrel was perfect. There was one moment where a very drunk Allan came up and insulted Scarlet and David (knowing that he would have to carry him) just knocked him out because he couldn’t stand there and let his Lady be insulted like that. Adorable and funny!


This trio was a constant for the majority of the book and although they got along for the most part, when they did argue, Scarlet did not roll over or let what they said go.


“Do not let yourself be blinded by the suffering of one person, my lady. You must think of the suffering of England itself.’

‘You think I shouldn’t act for one boy? I demanded. ‘You think that England is some higher thing? One life is England. Every Life is England.’ Shaking my head, I spat at his feet. ‘You didn’t choose England. You chose my life over his.’”

Spoken from a true leader. Countless times Scarlet endangers her own life for strangers. She is fighting a cause greater than anyone knows and I love her for it. She is exactly who Nottingham needs. She is fighting for those who have no voice and will risk anything to get it!


This novel was by far the most political driven installment. Scarlet is bestowed Rob’s old title, Earl of Huntingdon, reinstating the past she thought was left behind. This allowed her to navigate court and handle the nobles with a respect that her new title demanded. Now she could reach more nobles and with their power they were able to put an end to Prince John and his scheming. But let’s not forget that it was above all else, Scarlet who won the hearts of both peasant and noble alike, with merit alone.

“I will sacrifice anything to protect these people from your pain,’ I told him, fierce and bold. ‘But if you swing that whip, it’s not for the people. It’s so you can hurt me. I am not where you get to vent your childish anger. I am not weak, and I am not broken, and I will not be hurt by you. I am Lady Huntingdon. I am King Richard’s daughter, and I am lionhearted too. Get out of here and leave these people alone.’”- Page 117

Page 117. Remember that. It’s important.


Navigating politics proved to be challenging for Scarlet and increasing her grandmother’s presence provided the much needed advice to do so. But again, Scarlet never wavered from her beliefs because someone told her differently. She held true.


“There is no safety to be had,’ I told her. ‘Death has walked this far with me as a shadow just behind me, and all I’ve ever had, chained in a dungeon or hiding in the forest, is my ability to fight. To never give up. To never let this awful world win. You told me to protect the things I love, Eleanor, and I will do that the only way I know how. In Nottingham, with Rob, with a knife in my hand. I will try to stay out of prince John’s notice as long as I can manage, but he will find out I’m alive. And when he does, I will do everything I can to stop him.’

She nodded. ‘Then there are things you can do. You’re a noblewoman now—not an earl in your own right, but you control an earldom. You’re one of the highest ladies in the land, and not so far below John himself. You must show the nobles that—and make them see that John’s retaliation can strike them as well.’”

And she was right. In the end Scarlet needed the help of the nobles to defeat Prince John but she did it her own way. She showed the nobles who she was and what she was fighting and that is how she won.


She lost Nottingham and almost everyone she ever cared for and this happened because she was away. But Rob wouldn’t let that drag her down and this is one of the many reasons these two belong together! And when people were saying glorified stories about how Scarlet achieved so much, it was Rob that talked her down yet again. He is the rock that keeps her grounded.


“Those stories are not meant to told,’ I said, shaking my head. ‘Not like that. Not like I’m some damn hero for murdering people. Not like death when all I do is bring it down on the head of others.’ I put my hand on his chest, looking at them. ‘The thought of you, Rob—that was all that got me through. That got me back here. I’d never run from you.’


His head pressed against mine. ‘You’re alive. You’re here. That’s all that matters.’


‘Is it?’ I whispered.


‘Yes.’”


Scarlet has been incredibly strong throughout this whole series and I love how Gaughen included this moment because this showed her vulnerability. Just like everyone else, Scarlet does have doubts and insecurities and all that great stuff we, as humans possess. It made her real!


We also see a moment that shows Rob’s vulnerability and this time Scarlet was able to comfort him and it was also adorable! They fight over her title and how she can do so much better than him and she won’t let him do that! Put himself down like that!


“No’, I snapped back. ‘You need to think. Like a thief—like a girl. Like all the people that get their power and their choices taken away from them, I won’t be one of them. I will hold the earldom as my own if I had to.’


‘And I have no doubt you can. But it will be easier—‘


‘With a man I don’t love and don’t want and don’t care about, touching me, making me have his children, silencing me? That won’t be easier.’


‘You think I’m such a prize?’ he shouted at me. ‘You’d take me over an earl? You think I’ll make it easier, with my nightmares, with my scars?’

I pushed forward, taking his face, in my hands. ‘I have scars, Rob. I’m not frightened of your dreams. I love you, and you make me stronger. You make me stronger than wealth or power. And together if you just choose to be together, we can save Nottingham.’”

Yes, Scarlet throws way more heat and anger into comforting someone but that’s just passion! She loves Rob and he loves her!


Chapter 33 almost killed me! (and Rob!) This whole chapter would set anyone on edge and I can’t believe it was Allan that saved Rob! Just another great scene to show Allan shine! (not like he needed any help haha)


This was also the last chapter and it’s where Scarlet finally puts an end to Prince John. This scene was so beautiful that I’m just going to let it speak for itself.


“I stepped forward from Robin, going forward to see the mad look of Prince John’s eyes, the flecks of spittle on his mouth. ‘Me?’ I asked. ‘I’m just a thief. I stole your nobles—they will never put their trust in you again, even if Richard never comes home. I stole your power because without them, you are just likes me better than you. I told you when you took my fingers that you would regret this, John. Everything I’ve taken, you let me steal.’


Intermission ---Then he comes at her with a knife…her weapon of choice…hmmm, that’s ballsy!


“I let him go completely, and he cradled his sore parts as I snatched up the knife, reclaiming his attention as I held it to his throat.

‘I will never be the schemer you are. I will never use words as well as you. But there are two things that make me powerful. There are two things that make me stronger than you.’ I straightened my shoulders. ‘My heart holds my love, my hope, and my faith. My heart is unyielding, my heart is stalwart, and my heart is true. It will never be broken by the likes of you. But do you know what else makes me strong, you royal fool?’ I asked him.

He just cursed at me.


I pushed the knife against his skin, hard enough to press, but not to cut. He swallowed hard.

‘I could kill you. You killed David. You killed John. You have hurt so many. You deserve it for what you’ve done. But I won’t,’ I told him. ‘Because now it’s you who should worry. It’s you who will look over his shoulder forever. Because you will scheme again, and I will be here, standing between you and the people of England,’ I leaned closer. ‘I may be a bastard, a princess, a thief, and a royal. But do you know what the other thing is that makes me more powerful than you,’ I said. I held up my knife. ‘With a knife in my hand, I’m unbeatable.’”
7 views0 comments
bottom of page