top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

23. Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

This Robin Hood inspired novel was definitely an unexpected treasure. I almost stopped reading it too! The writing style can be quite jarring at first. The main character, Scarlet has a very present slang in her speech that can be difficult to read at times. Despite it being a distraction at first, it slowly faded away as the story unfolded, letting the plot take over! And now that I look back at it, I’m even more grateful for Gaughen’s choice because it made the read more authentic and with history pieces that’s tricky to do. I think it worked so well because it had a strong plot to fall on and it helped get it moving rather than stopping it.


I really liked Scarlet. This 18-year-old girl with moonlight eyes and a scar on her cheek to match, fights at every turn. She’s a strong and scrappy woman running from her past who isn’t afraid to jeopardize everything for what’s right.

“You know nothing of it, John. To be silenced when your wishes don’t matter, to be sold like property, and to a man like him?’ I spat at his feet. ‘A man would know nothing of it.’”

“And what would a thief know of it?” John scoffed.


"I know what it’s like when you can’t get no one to listen to you when what you say don’t matter. I half think every girl knows what it’s like to be silenced.”


It must have been really hard for women to live back then. They had little rights and what life they had was completely determined by men (I don’t think I would have fared well in this point of history!)


I think what I admire most about Scarlet is her compassion and loyalty. Everything she does is for her people, the people of Nottingham. Many times when the band is at odds, it’s because Scarlet doesn’t agree with putting anyone in danger for the greater good. At one point, Rob suggested using Ravenna’s elevated status to their advantage to save those imprisoned for helping them stay hidden and Scarlet would not back down when she didn’t agree! She refused to put Ravenna in harm’s way! Headstrong and passionate! This is clearly someone who cares about her people and I liked her so much more everytime she fought! She definitely has a fire and that’s definitely a great quality in a main character. She is a girl that will not rollover when faced with a man’s opinion, despite what this point in time expects from their women.


The only time she is given any respect (if you can call it that) is when men saw her as a skinny lad. Being mistaken for a man was basically the only time where she was treated as an equal and although that’s how it was then, it doesn’t make it any less sad. Scarlet was forced into a fight all her life simply because she was born a girl. So ridiculous! But her determination and strength made her someone to admire.

The one time she dresses up as a girl (to attend mass), she is absolutely hilarious!

“I changed quick into the gown, untwining the muslin that I used to pin my bits back. Couldn’t very well be running for your hide with bits jiggling all over the place, could you?”

Now every time I see the word “bits” (which is used quite often by Scarlet) I laugh! It’s a nice thing of humour which Gaughen incorporates every now and then and I just think that was incredibly clever on her part. Everything else in the story is extremely serious and then you read something like this and it puts your mind at ease, just a little bit and it makes you see the characters vulnerable and relatable.


Anyone that knows of the Robin Hood legend knows that Robin Hood goes with Lady Marian (Scarlet). But in this story, John Little (Little John) also falls for her and although it annoyed me and still does if I’m being honest, I am glad it was included. It made the theme of things not going your way even more pronounced because including John made this instant relationship into a love triangle which added a layer of unexpected drama. And it’s a drama that constantly drives the band apart, deepening the plot even further.


This may be shameful to admit but I always wanted Scarlet to go with Rob (sue me) but trust me when I say this, John was a pretty good contender. Despite being strong with his feelings for Scarlet, John would manage to say the sweetest things that would make me reconsider this several times haha.

“I ain’t made of glass, John. Someone hits me and I don’t shatter.”
“Listen good, Scarlet. Long as I’m around, if someone wants to hurt you and I can stop it, I will.”

See what I mean?


And don’t forget when he fixed her broken dagger and even tied her ribbon on it just like she does---so sweet!


They even held pretty strong banter!

“You saying you’re the jealous sort, Scar?"
"I’m saying that some girls slap, but I have knives.”

Again I am a Robin fan but you know John could hold his own and he deserves to be represented in this review for that effort!


I was disappointed that there wasn’t much romance between Rob and Scarlet but the end made up for it.

“You are my whole heart, Scarlet. And this is breaking it.”

Rob said this when Scarlet chose to marry Gisbourne to save Robin! He finally says how he feels and then she (knowing her feelings all along- for the most part) sacrifices herself for that love! So many feelings are happening and there’s only so many pages left!!!! There is no doubt in my mind when I say that A.C. Gaughen knows how to hook readers and leave them begging for the next book! Because that’s exactly how I felt as I finished this one. And yes, I went out and got the next book the very next day! I had to know what happens with Scarlet or should I say Lady Gisbourne!?


This novel had so many twists and turns, my hands stayed gripped to this book until I finished it! Authors that are unafraid to kill characters off are both ballsy and clever because I am telling you, each time someone died (in total three people die!!) I gripped harder because I had to know what was going to happen next! Whether it be a tragic death or a death from betrayal, the effect was the same!


Here is one of my favourite quotes because Scarlet definitely puts Robin in his place! It speaks for itself.


“You don’t get to do that!” I bellowed. Well, as much a bellow as I could muster, leastways. I caught his shoulders and kneed him in the bits, making him double over as John and Much each gave a moan for him. I heaved him onto the ground. “You do not get to be some goddamn martyr, you hear me? You are a pigheaded, stubborn, stupid boy and you are not going to put more people in danger. We will figure out the lay of this prison like we done the last. We will get them out and get them free without her help. And don’t you ever, ever call me Marian.”

9 views0 comments
bottom of page