top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

21. A Map of Days by Ransom Riggs

This book was so much better than I thought possible. I was worried a fourth book might undue some things if not, everything from the original trilogy but I am so glad that wasn’t the case. Renewing a series is tricky, especially when the story was wrapped up, but Ransom Riggs nailed it! His writing was amazing (just like the others). I wasn’t very sure what this book was about at first (I just knew that I needed to have it!) but the whole story arc of coming to America and how the peculiardom differs from Europe was ingenious! I can’t believe I didn’t think about that before. I guess I just assumed that it all worked as a collective, an international network of loops.

"Never have I doubted my soundness of mind as often as I did on that first night, when the bird-woman and her wards came to save me from the madhouse. That's where I was going, pinned between beefy uncles in the back seat of my parent's car, when a wall of peculiar children seemed to leap directly from my imagination into the driveway before us, aglow in our high beams like a formation of angels." - Jacob

I loved how lawless and corrupt this American setting was. It had gangs, theme parks, motels and diners that all had an eerie yet very American feel to it. It sounds dark but I loved the obstacles they faced along the way to saving this uncontacted peculiar. The feeling of having someone following you in a unknown area was definitely scary and having it be thugs in a cop car was even better (sounds weird but it completely makes sense when you read it!) I also found the idea of poisoning their food both believable and mysterious (what are these people’s motives? How do they know who and what they are? You know?) I especially liked when they woke up in Frankie’s strange house (I picture it as a doll house haha because her peculiars were like her personal dolls—which are definitely creepy) and their impromptu auction with the other American Clans because it was a twist I didn’t see coming but completely made sense when I read it. The whole idea of the clans and different factions was very clever and blew the story wide open.


I especially loved how Riggs incorporated history and although it tore at me sometimes (like with Paul and how he literally couldn’t go into the diner to get lunch because he was black and they were in a white town) I loved the genuine feel it added to the story. It made things feel more real and hello they are literally jumping through moments in time so it completely makes sense to include these pivotal moments and how far we as a society have come since. Everything just fell into place and I couldn’t stop reading it. This was a book that made me want to drop everything and just read. All day. And I don’t say that lightly. This is definitely as well executed as the first three (if not better) and I cannot wait for the next TWO!!! I’m beyond excited.


I’ve been left with so many unanswered questions! Its killing me!


What role is Noor going to be play?


What is the prophesized 7 mean??


Will Jacob and the peculiar children reconcile???


Will Emma ever let go of Abe? (This one really bugs me because she was with Jacob finally and then now all of sudden running around America is sparking feelings for Abe again?? Like why? Jacob is standing there, right in front of her and all she can think about is his grandfather who she was with decades ago…? Sometimes this whole thing just frustrates me to no end. She needs to get over him. He’s gone. The girl needs to make up her damn mind already! And SOON! Jacob deserves better than that.)


And who is this V person? And where is she? I’m really looking forward to seeing where they will go and what new struggles lie ahead for them. Plus you know it’s just Jacob and Noor so I wonder how the dynamic will change now that he doesn’t have his friends and their abilities helping him. Plus, will Riggs write chapters that will now show Jacob and then others with the children because they are split up or will it follow Jacob only? There are so many unanswered questions!! Ugh it’s killing me and this one just came out so it will be awhile for the next one! So many questions!!

Oh and let’s not forget that foreshadowing from Sharon about how some don’t feel like following the Ymbrynes any longer…(thanks for the gossip Sharon lol) This will definitely cause problems for Miss Peregrine and I can’t wait to see who else might be harboring those feelings!!! It’s going to be good I just know it!


I can’t stress enough how great and original these books are. The funny moments and great dynamic the children and Jacob (just flip to page 162-163 where Horace is forced to shop for jeans LOL) have instantly remind me why I fell in love with these books in the first place, well that and the creepy photos and the amazing writing and the great, unique story. Hell I could go on and on about all the things that make these books such a treasure to read but who wants to hear more of that? Read the books and I bet you’ll agree. Definitely a five-star series. Each book just gets better and better. Trust me. It’s cute and quirky. Dark and creepy. Light and funny.

9 views0 comments
bottom of page