top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

20. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas


Crown of Midnight was a great sequel to Throne of Glass. There was humor, witty banter, definitely more magic and even the occasional steamy scene, but most importantly it gave more insight into how this world works. And just like Throne of Glass it left me wanting more.


We already know how great Celaena is from the first book, but let’s just take a moment and savior this hilarious first encounter with Dorian’s insufferably pompous cousin, Roland.


“But before the Prince could speak, Roland studied Celaena further, a tad too intently.


‘Perhaps you and I shall get to work with each other, Lillian. Your position intrigues me.’

She wouldn’t mind working with him either—but not in the way Roland meant. Her way would include a dagger, a shovel and an unmarked grave.”

This is why she’s so great! Sharp too. He was so sketchy! And working with the King!

We see this again when she encounters Mort, the enchanted door knob down in the tomb.


“My name is Mort, if you must know.’


She picked up the candle. ‘Can I expect all of your encounters to be this pleasant?’ She reached for the door handle.


‘Aren’t you even going to knock, after all that? You truly have no manners.’


She used all of her self-control to avoid banging on his little face as she made three unnecessarily loud knocks on the wooden door.”


He was infuriating haha.


I’m still reeling from the failed Dorian/Celaena relationship which was completely shattered at the end of Throne of Glass, so although I’m not shocked that she moves on to Chaol, I don’t like the dynamic. It’s hard to describe, I just don’t see it, if that makes any sense. I felt bad for Chaol when he watched her and Dorian from the Garden in Throne of Glass but I mean they just don’t go well together. Seeing them together just made me sad that it wasn’t Dorian! They bonded over books and he loved her boldness and sharp wit. With Chaol it seemed almost all physical…and that’s just not healthy. With that being said I do have to admit that it was adorable when he jumped into the portal to save Fleetfoot with no care for his life, all he could think about was Celaena and how much she loved that dog. Adorable! This doesn’t make up for all he did but you know it helped a little because she loves that dog more than anything. I was glad to see this relationship end in this book although the reason was tragic. Celaena lost a true friend in Nehemia when she was brutally murdered by Grave (remember him from the competition in ToG?) Who wouldn’t break up with the guy who knew of a threat to her life and didn’t tell her? Chaol messed up and he lost Celaena because of it. (And again I’m not sorry to see Chaol and Celaena split.) The was a shocking twist that I never saw coming. It still feels a little surreal. That scene where Nehemia comes through the portal was heartwrenching!!! (Yes I included it, because any scene as pivotal as this one needs to be shown again)


“Elentiya.’ Nehemia paused to look back at her. The void seemed to be swirling, swallowing her up bit by bit. ‘You will not understand yet, but… I knew what my fate was to be, and I embraced it. I ran toward it. Because it was the only way for things to begin changing, for events to be set in motion. But no matter what I did, Elentiya, I want you to know that in the darkness of the past ten years, you were one of the bright lights for me. Do not let that light go out.”

And before Celaena could reply, the princess was gone.”


This was powerful stuff! Emotionally draining stuff!


Her killing Archer did help ease the pain though. The guy was so smug! And someone she thought she knew too! What a guy! I found it funny (I know that’s dark but he deserved worse than what Nehemia got so in my mind Celaena let him down easy) that it was his own stupidity that killed him. Underestimating Celaena like that is never a good idea (like dude she’s an assassin what were you thinking???) And yes I’m including that scene because again its worth seeing twice.


“Thank you,’ Archer said again.


She kept walking, listening for any sign of him moving to attack her back.


“I knew you were a good woman,’ he said.


Celaena halted. Turned.


There was a hint of triumph in his eyes. He thought he’d won. Manipulated her again. One foot after another, she walked back toward him with predatory calmness.


She stopped, close enough to kiss him. He gave her a wary smile.


‘No, I’m not,’ she said. Then she moved, too fast for him to stand a chance.

Archer’s eyes went wide as she slid the dagger home, jamming it up into his heart.

He sagged in her arms. She brought her mouth to his ear, holding him upright with one hand and twisting the dagger with the other as whispered, ‘But Nehemia was.’”


Dude you shouldn’t have said anything!! But I’m glad he did, because he killed Nehmia and that was not OK!


I may sound like an idiot but honestly I’m so confused that at this point I don’t care to admit but does Celaena know that she is Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, lost heir and Queen of Terrasen? Because I mean Dorian figured it out pretty early on in this book and had suspicions as he remembered meeting her as a child (not shocked at all that he figured it out so soon, like come on its Dorian!!—clearly I’m a fan of his haha) Even Chaol figured it out at the end!! But does she know who she really is??? THIS STILL PLAGUES MY MIND!!! I’m 80% sure that it was a memory that was blocked and then forgotten only to resurface as she was reintroduced to the high life and the idea of magic. But I think it’s worth mentioning that it was a really confusing time for me haha! And with an end like that too! How can I be left not knowing?!


“‘Celaena Sardothien wasn’t in league with Aelin Ashryver Galathynius.
Celaena Sardothien was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, heir to the throne and rightful Queen of Terrasen.
Celaena was Aelin Galathynius, the greatest living threat to Adarlan, the one person who could raise an army capable of standing against the king. Now, she was also the one person who knew the secret source of the King’s power—and who sought a way to destroy it.
And he had just sent her into the arms of her strongest potential allies: to the homeland of her mother, the kingdom of her cousin, and the domain of her aunt, Queen Maeve of the Fae.
Celaena was the lost Queen of Terrasen.
Chaol sank to his knees.”

WHAT AN ENDING!! HOLY CRAP!! Bravo Sarah. (Picks up Heir of Fire and starts reading it as soon as possible because so much is happening!)


I can’t wait to see what the world is like outside of Adarlan!! I’m really looking forward to seeing more magic and more fae because we haven’t seen much so far and I just know it will be good!!


4 views0 comments
bottom of page