top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

15. Bright We Burn by Kiersten White

Nothing that happens in this book should be very surprising as it is the third and final book in the Conqueror’s Saga by Kiersten White. We already know how ruthless Lada can be, especially when it comes to Wallachia and her people, but I mean I was still shocked when just 29 pages in she has already ordered the brutal, and I mean brutal deaths of an entire Ottoman envoy sent by Mehmed. And again, when she murders thousands of soldiers and orders her men to impale them as a grand gesture to Mehmed and Radu to show just how capable she is of protecting Wallachia. Like there are so many things that make Lada lovable and then there are some that truly make her as a horrifying as the person she is based off of was. But you can’t help (at least I couldn’t) but route for her to win! I like her way more than I liked Mehmed so I guess her bloody side is what you have to deal with. Call it an occupational hazard haha!


There’s something that needs to be said about Kiersten White’s ability to write such a profound and dark turn in history. I don’t know how to say it. Her writing is just so good and seems to match whatever theme her books take.


“All the years had built a wall of silk and gold and power and pain between them.”


This is just a taste of how strong and dark, yet poetic her writing is.


After finishing, Now I Rise, I was crushed. Radu’s life is shattered when his wife, Nazira and potential partner, Cyprian sail away to what they think is safety as Constantinople falls to Mehmed. He had no idea if Nazira and Cyprian were alive or dead and that was crushing to read. So when I got to page 93 and saw that they are both alright I couldn’t contain myself! I was just so happy for Radu! Nazira’s first words to Radu after reuniting are so adorable and it just adds to my love for her character, so I had to include it.


“She put one hand over his mouth. ‘Please do not apologize. I know you. You have probably carried nothing but guilt all these months, tearing yourself apart. But you did it. You got us out safely. We survived, which means we are alive to heal and grow.’”


I just ugh this was so adorable! Nazira is such a wise and refreshing character and she is essential in keeping Radu as the moral compass in these novels. I have so much respect for these two and all they have been through. Their unconventional marriage doesn’t get in the way of their friendship and actually keeps them both sane. I definitely think they need one another and I was glad to see that she was ok.


Speaking of keeping each other sane, I have been an ultimate fan of this cute and witty relationship that Lada and Nicolae have had since the beginning. So when he dies protecting her I literally had to walk away from this book for a while. I couldn’t see this world change now that he was gone and Lada had no one to lean on. And I think what made this hurt so much more was the fact that Lada was suspicious of Nicolae and his death exonerated him from all of those thoughts, poetic and sad all at once. They were literally right in the middle of fixing their strained friendship when he gets hit the first time and then he knowingly protects Lada when taking the second arrow which led to his untimely death. This death is going to stay with me for a very long time because I just can’t get over it. Poor Lada! This definitely marks her spiral. She no longer cares so much about all elements in play when warring with Mehmed because her other half in battle strategy perished before her eyes.


Lada is a character who you just can’t hate, even if you don’t agree with what she does, you can’t help but like her and that is definitely a good quality in a main character. As I’ve said Lada has been through a lot, her actions are controversial at best but she doesn’t care and there is definitely respect for her because of that. But let’s just talk about Lada’s less ruthless side for a minute, her friendship with Oana, her childhood nurse is adorable!


“The entire city could burn down and you would be standing in the center, entirely unharmed, holding a comb and telling me it was time to deal with my hair.”


Oana squinted. “It is looking rather worse for wear.”


“Oh, go hide in the mountains, you monster.” Before Lada could dodge, Oana wrapped her in a hug.


There’s this cute banter about Lada never wanting to get her hair brushed and yet Oana always insists it get done and this line got me laughing so hard in spite of the really dark war raging in the book haha! Lada needed some motherly love and yet unconventional as it was, she found that in her nurse and it was lovely! This light humour between these two really helped show Lada’s other side and I think this was really important, especially in this novel because she has done a lot of questionable things in the name of Wallachia.


Radu and Cyprian are meant for each other! Honestly though they are just perfect for one another and let’s face it they’ve already dealt with a lot and they aren’t even together yet. Cyprian sees and appreciates Radu for who he is and encourages him to stay true.


“Cyprian lifted Radu’s hand and pressed it to his lips. ‘Lada and Mehmed can only move forward. They have one path and cannot branch from it. But you underestimate yourself. You are not your sister, nor should you be. You have always had strengths she did not. If you want to go back down this mountain and leave Wallachia forever, I will be at your side. And if you decide that killing your sister is the right decision, I will be at your side. But do not do something because she would, or because Mehmed would.’”


#RelationshipGoals. Enough said.


Full disclosure: a lot of people die in this. What do you want? It’s the last book so it makes sense, plus this has been a slow burning feud since the first novel so we all knew this was coming. Bogdan’s death was less significant and much later than Nicolae’s but I mean it still had impact. I still can’t believe Lada finally caved and decided to marry him and then he gets shot at the altar, like what? Lada already felt alone when Nicolae died so adding this scene on top of that was heartbreaking to read. But what I think took the cake for this was the fact that it was Radu’s arrow that did the deed and he knew how much that would hurt Lada. You can’t help but feel bad for her despite all the things she has done (aka Kumal’s death and grand spectacle)


I don’t want to spoil the ending too much but I will say that it was a good one!


MINOR SPOILER AHEAD*** (Epilogue moments that take place 17 years later)

Radu moved to stand, then, thinking better of it took out a knife and carefully scratched two additions onto Lada’s marker.


PRINCE

SISTER

DRAGON


It was enough.

14 views0 comments
bottom of page