top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

14. I see London, I see France by Sarah Mlynowski

This book was an unexpected read for me. I usually don’t read what I call “Sarah Dessen” type novels (aka contemporary) but I think the mix of travelling and finding an unexpected love in a very summery setting just got to me. It provided a much needed break from all of my fantasy/kingdom books that I’m usually drawn to (but let’s be real, I want to read those just as much haha). This was a book out of my norm but it was a welcome one all the same. If you’re struggling to find a cute and quirky read with a summery atmosphere, strong friendships and honesty (because I can’t stress how real this book is) then this is your book!


We follow this nineteen-year-old girl named Sydney and her best friend, Leela on their summer trek through Europe (something I’m also interested in doing so you know this was perfect). But add in stumbling into an ex (one that you really don’t want to see because the break-up is still fresh), a mother too terrified to leave her own home and a dalliance with a cute stranger who also happens to be that ex’s best friend and travel companion and that’s what this book is, a summer that these friends will never forget.


Each chapter was a new destination and with it came a little side commentary from Sydney that was labeled tips/basics and these were just so cute and hilarious and it just added to how real and honest this book was. Like who isn’t frustrated with England and their huge assortment of words, you literally need a dictionary dedicated to English slang.

“They snog instead of kiss, wear knickers instead of underwear, and spend pounds instead of dollars, so you might not always understand what they’re bloody (bloody= curse word) talking about.”

This is just so true! And anyone who hasn’t been confused about all of this is lying haha! I really felt like I resonated with Sydney. I don’t know if it was just her personality or how she thought but I just understood her so well. And I think this is what made me read this book so quickly (but don’t get me wrong, the writing was also very good!)


How about that stranger I mentioned earlier? Jackson’s character was a really great addition. With everything Sydney has going on in her life with her mother and protecting her little sister from all that responsibility, having a person like Jackson who tells Sydney she can do something for herself was needed! She had everything on her shoulders and Jackson was the one to tell her that it was ok to share that, that there are people who can help her through it. This just made my heart melt because it wasn’t an instant friendship let alone a relationship from the beginning so when he tells her this he truly means it! He’s there for her, for all of it.


Here are a few spoilers just because I think they need to be said before deciding whether this book might be for you.


There are themes that are definitely not PG, especially the whole Amsterdam chapter that deals with x-rated clubs and nudity or the commentary between Sydney and Leela while viewing the explicit nature of the David Statue in Italy. This is for an older teen audience that’s all I want to say.


Another concept that might not be for everyone is the topic of Sydney’s mother. One deal breaker for Sydney going on this trip was how her mother would be able to cope with her away do to her mental health. Sydney has been a parent to her mother and has a huge responsibility in caring for her and this is a current theme throughout and sometimes it is tough to read because it’s heartbreaking. Again this isn’t an easy topic to read at times but it is something that does happen in real life and I think this just made the book more real because it adds substance to the main character. She’s not just another girl blowing her money on the summer, she has responsibility and she has people who rely on her and although it’s a constant struggle for a normal life, it makes Sydney stronger for it and I found that to be a really great thing. This also made for a better ending! (Don’t worry I won’t spoil it because it’s too cute! It has to be experienced for oneself!)


This is definitely a must read for anyone who enjoys strong protagonists, travelling and swoon-worthy love interests. This is a very strong book because of how real and honest it is (there is literally no filter) so be prepared.


This, I repeat, is not a light read. It does deal with some very heavy themes and real emotions. Be ready before diving in!


4 views0 comments
bottom of page