top of page
  • Writer's picturelauraerne

13. Now I Rise by Kiersten White

Kiersten White’s ability to craft this world is remarkable. Now I Rise takes place in Wallachia and Constantinople, a nice change from the Ottoman Empire in, And I Darken. Lada and Radu are both free from their forced imprisonment by the hands of their father and you can see them grow into who they are. Lada is a proud Wallachian who will stop at nothing to get her and her men to the throne (aka her birthright). Radu is finally seen without the constant strained relationship that he has with Mehmed due to unrequited feelings.


"I do not have the skill for nobility. I am a blunt weapon. I need a surgeon. I am tired of being the right hand to powerful men. I want you as my right hand. I have seen you move among the nobility as easily as a hawk cuts through air. Cut through the boyars for me. Come home, Radu. Help me. Wallachia belongs to us and I will not be complete without you." Lada's letter to Radu

Although Lada is still Lada, ruthless and proud as ever, she takes a back seat a little as Radu moves up and into the spotlight. Radu and his wife, Nazira are spies for Mehmed in Constantinople and Radu never compromises who he is. He finds ways to keep his new religion alive despite his new role in a Christian country. He keeps his thoughts on helping Mehmed succeed in his goal of obtaining this country for his new capital. He even stumbles on a potential love in Constantine’s nephew and ambassador, Cyprian. This second installment was for Radu the Handsome.

Radu builds multiple relationships throughout his spying, the most important one to note is his wife (in name only) Nazira. They have an adorable friendship that’s genuine and makes your heart melt. Radu constantly puts himself in danger and every time he does, despite the risk she is there, either in planning strategy or in person as a shoulder to lean on when things get tough. Sometimes you forget that their marriage is one of just friendship.


“Nazira stopped, looking into Radu’s eyes. ‘Yes, I do. Because she is important to you and you are important to me, so she is important to me.’”

This is absolutely the most adorable friendship I have ever seen. Radu cares for his sister despite their estranged childhood and Nazira supports him! A woman let’s keep in mind that she has never met and has only heard unsavory stories about and yet she doesn’t write Lada off like so many who actually do know her. This speaks to Nazira’s character and she is one that you definitely want on your side!


Lada finally sees how important having her brother by her side would be and it is sad that they never do meet up in this book despite their communication to one another. He still cares for her even if he doesn’t (which he usually doesn’t) agree with her views. Their final letters to one another at the end were disappointing but honestly? They made sense. Lada is too proud to beg for help even if she needs him, she’s too stubborn to admit it and Radu has finally seen justice served for Halil Vizier and assumes his new role as Radu Pasha, close confidante and advisor to the Sultan. They are both too stubborn for their own good but I can’t wait to see how it all comes to a conclusion in the final installment, Bright We Burn.


One of the things that made me fall in love with And I Darken was the humour that White used to liven up the dark tones and I am so glad to see her continue it in this book. It might have even been better than the first one. One of my favourites was when Lada stumbled on enemies along her way to the throne and stuck to what she does best, insult them with such vigor they don’t know what to do. It was hilarious! And yes I included it because it deserves to be seen again.


“The Sultan is the son of a donkey,” she shouted in Turkish. The Janissaries turned as one, arrows nocked to bows and pointed in her direction. She had cover, but it would not take them long to find her. She darted to another tree. “I am sorry. I shouldn’t have said that about the Sultan. It is an offense to donkeys, which are perfectly serviceable creatures.”


Lada’s relationship with Hunyadi was an unlikely twist, but a good one.


“He patted her back. ‘Be careful, Little Dragon. You and I were made for battlefields, not royal courts. Do not start fights you have no weapon for.’ He kissed her forehead, then got back on his horse. ‘May God be with you.’”

He was the father she never had despite their short friendship. He was proud of who she was and her encouraged her to never stop being the girl who chose the knife.

“Your father was a fool and a coward, but his choices shaped you into the fearsome creature you are. I do not want to imagine a world in which you are not you.”

Just adorable!


Now were there hints of Lada being potentially pregnant?? If so, that’s awesome!! This world could use another Lada in it. Her reaction to Mehmed’s love poem after their encounter let’s call it, was hilarious and completely Lada like!


“What has he shat out on this page?’ Lada muttered, scowling at the poem. It was a waste of words and breath. Who had ever looked with lust upon a gazelle? And her breasts had nothing like the mirror about them.”


I’m still unsure about this new mysterious character, Mattias, son of Hunyadi and King of Hungary now I think? I don’t know if he is going to help or hinder Lada now that she is Prince of Wallachia but I’m excited to see! From their few interactions I know that whatever the outcome it’s going to be hilarious (which sounds odd but you know what I mean) Here’s a little taste that we got near the end of this novel,


“If I wanted shit, I would have visited the Privy, not asked for an audience with you.” Lada to Mattias


This makes it even more interesting when Mattias leaves her with this to think about,

“Dependence on symbols breeds weakness. If you are a king, you do not need a crown.”
8 views0 comments
bottom of page